My Emergency C-Section

 

Maya angelou

My entire pregnancy I was anticipating giving birth to my son, Zion. I ate dates to make labor easier. I danced around the apartment. I practiced breathing. I took my medicine. Tried to keep my blood pressure under control. I did everything right. I was READY. Mentally and Physically. However, none of that mattered during my final appointment.

My doctor was concerned that the amniotic fluid was low, so she advised me to go to the hospital. I wasn’t prepared at all. I didn’t have his car seat nor did I have my hospital bag. I felt fine though. This will be a complete waste of my time, I thought. Needless to say, I was wrong….AGAIN. When I arrived, they immediately took my blood pressure and urine; both came back high & with protein…which means I had preeclamsia.

(Preeclampsia occurs when a pregnant woman develops high blood pressure and protein in the urine after the 20th week of pregnancy.)

Since the protein they found was high, I was diagnosed with severe preeclamsia, and they admitted me into labor and delivery. My nurse advised me that they were going to induce me with Pitocin (a natural hormone in our bodies that makes the uterus contract) to get my labor started. I will be honest with you all, and admit that I didn’t do ANY research on C-sections, because I was just that confident it wouldn’t happen to me. I really wish I would have, which is why I’m making this my first post.

It wasn’t until weeks after I gave birth to him, that I realized this practice is very common among black mothers. After I joined multiple support groups, our stories started to all sound the same.

They gave me multiple medicines; magnesium so I wouldn’t seize because of the preeclamsia…the pitocin..and another drip to ease the feeling of the magnesium.  Before I even received the pitocin, a catheter was inserted so I couldn’t move or walk around if I wanted to.  Even though pitocin is a natural hormone, the pitocin they give you is man made…the contractions hit so close together it’s hard for you to concentrate, and it’s hard on the baby as well. I lasted 7 hours with those back to back contractions before I broke down and asked for an epidural.

Getting the epidural wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be, but after I received it, everything went downhill. The Anesthesiologist ended up knocking over my IV stand, and as soon as it dropped, I lost hearing in my ears and I panicked. It didn’t last long, but before I could even grasp what had happened, they were pushing me down the hallway for an emergency c-section due to my son’s heart rate dropping from the contractions.

I didn’t have anybody in the room with me, and I don’t even remember seeing my son. I remember hearing him and then passing out. I may have passed out a few times, and I also ended up getting sick while they were stitching me back together. My blood pressure ended up being too low, and I remember waking up to a ton of nurses in my room scrambling and sticking me with IV’s to try to raise it up. I had my son at 2:22 am, and didn’t see him until a little after 7 am. I was told I couldn’t see him until the nurses switched shifts.

It was a very scary experience, and being alone….not knowing what’s going on…and nobody willing to give you any answers just amped my fear up even more. The doctor that performed my c-section was very nonchalant, and nobody could answer any questions I had. I had to pull up my medical records just to find out what happened during my stay at the hospital. I’m not telling my story to scare anyone..but to inform you to do your research, and ask questions. Make sure your doctor is for you, and not for the check.

 

 

 

My Emergency C-Section

5 thoughts on “My Emergency C-Section

Leave a Reply

