Leaving My Heart In Your Hands

Hey ya’ll hey!

Back from a brief hiatus! I had to get my mind right after reading nonstop for a month straight, but I’m ready and somewhat refreshed.

Today’s book is Leaving My Heart In Your Hands by J. Renee

51fJ86Hp3GL

The book’s main characters are Lavish and Brielle, 2 best friends who moved from New York to Atlanta for a fresh start…and to attend college.

You get a brief look at their lives in this book. Lavish and Brielle became close after Brielle comes to stay with Lavish and her foster parents after Brielle’s father gets sent to jail, and her aunt is revealed to be a lazy, trifling heffa with a nasty, perverted boyfriend.

Brielle has a passion for fashion, but decides to attend school for criminal justice, as her father is being accused of something he didn’t do, and after 10 years, she is more than determined to bring him home. However, this consumes her to the point she doesn’t really have a life, and given what happened to her when she was younger, she isn’t really interested in having a love life.

Lavish ended up in foster care after her mother passed, and for the most part takes care of herself and Brielle with the money she received upon her mother’s death. Lavish ends up having a hard time letting go of her former love, Diante, after he ends up in jail…and wants her to forget about him.  That’s easier said than done for her which is crazy because she still thinks about this dude even after 4 years!

That slowly fades away though after she decides to give Versailles a try, and he turns out to be the best thing to happen to her!

Brielle also decides to find love with Versailles’ friend, Romello.

From this point on in the book, life is going pretty good for them, they graduate, Lavish has a job waiting for her, and they decide to go back to New York for a while. Brielle manages to even find one of the best lawyer’s for her dad, and he even offers her a job.

The book ends with you wondering what happens to Lavish after she leaves the club in a haste from seeing Diante I’m guessing 🙂

Overall, the book was a refreshing read. These were some goal oriented people, and the men were so romantic. I love my fair share of drug dealers, side chicks, and super thots, but this was a nice pace from the norm.

There was a scene in the book that had me in tears. I laughed so hard when Lavish beat Carla and her friends up in the bathroom! It was funny as hell, and I don’t know if the author intended for it to be funny, but it was hilarious!

I am looking forward to find out more about Brielle and her father’s case though…that interested me more than Lavish and what she had going on to be honest.

Lavish seemed a little boring for some reason. I was way more into Brielle.

Click the link to download Leaving My Heart In Your Hands to your Kindle, or Kindle App.

99 Cents on Amazon, FREE with Kindle Unlimited

Make sure you follow my FB Page and IG: Beeutifulco to keep up with the latest updates on the books I’ve reviewed! Most of them are series…so I will be going back and letting you know when the other parts drop.

Leaving My Heart In Your Hands

Leave a Reply

